Skip to main content

What's New @ EVC Library: Home

New books and media added to EVC Library collections

Home

Purpose of the EVC Library Collection

Purpose of Collection

The Evergreen Valley College Library supports the philosophy and goals of the College. The primary purpose of the Library is to facilitate and improve learning by providing resources, services and assistance for the instructional programs of the College. Likewise, the Library provides resources and services relevant to general information needs; intellectual, personal, and professional growth; cultural development and activities of the College and community. In addition, the Library conforms to the Library Bill of Rights in representing all sides of issues.

No material shall be excluded from the collection because of the race or nationality of the author or the political, moral, or religious views expressed in the work. .

Materials Selection Criteria

Material added to the collection will be judged by the following criteria: 

  • Relevance to the curriculum
  • Appropriateness to the user
  • Scope
  • Level
  • Coverage
  • Timeliness and/or lasting value of material
  • Expertise in the area of the author, issuing body, and/or publisher
  • Presentation: a) style, b) clarity and c) ease of use.
  • Aesthetic considerations:  a) literary, artistic, or social value; b) appeal to the imagination, senses, or intellect
  • Special features: a) a detailed, logical index; b) footnotes; c) pictorial representations
  • Physical and technical quality:  a) paper, typography, and design; b) physical size; c) binding; d) durability
  • Strength of present holdings in the same or similar subject
  • Demand, frequency of interlibrary loan requests for material on the same or similar subject
  • Price/relative cost of material in relation to the budget and other available material

Suggest a Book

‚ÄčSuggest New Books

The EVC Library welcomes your suggestions for materials that support teaching, study, and research at EVC. You can recommend we purchase books, movies, music, and subscriptions to research databases, magazines & journals, etc.

To request materials please complete the online form.

New Books in EVC Library

For a complete list of titles and for book details click on the New Books file below.

______________________________________

Interested in movies based on books? Visit the EVC Library page Pinterest.