Skip to main content

N001 Nursing : Recommended Article Databases

Accessing Databases

 Accessing Databases

Using the library databases listed on this page, you will be able to find research articles and articles from peer-reviewed sources. You may access and conduct research in these databases from on or off campus. For off-campus access, log in with your name and student ID number.

Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin your research: 

CINAHL

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a health database with a heavy nursing perspective that covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. This database includes:

  • Full text for more than 760 journals
  • Full text for more than 275 books/monographs
  • Full-text coverage dating back to 1937
  • Indexing for more than 4,900 journals
  • More than 3.6 million records dating back to 1937
  • Searchable cited references for more than 1,360 journals
  • Full text for more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets
  • Full text for nearly 170 Quick Lessons
  • Full text for 360 research instruments records
  • Full text for over 160 CEUs

Academic Search Premier Database

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database will be helpful for finding information on thousands of topics, including current and controvesial topics. This database includes:

  • Newspaper articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Academic journal articles
  • Images
  • Reports

Medline Plus

PubMed is free to the public and comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Click here to search citation and full text articles from Nursing journals in PubMed.

LIBRARY ACTIVITY

Explore the EBSCO databases (CINAHL, Health Source, ASP, etc.) above by searching for your surgery research topic. Use the following questions to help guide your search:

1. Create an account for the EBSCO databases by opening up the database and selecting the Sign In link in the top menu. Select the Create an Account link and follow the directions. Creating an account allows you to save articles in your folder, which will help you to keep track of your research. You can also email articles to yourself.

2.Type your topic in the search box. Consider using other synonyms for your topic.

3. Add other focused keywords to narrow down your results like post operative or discharge care. Since the database searches for and matches all words typed in the search box, be sure not to include non-essential words.

4. Go to advanced search and use the limiters to help you locate appropriate articles. Some limiters to consider: scholarly peer review, date, journal subset: nursing, inpatients. Think about how these limiters affect your results.

5. Try select a field to tell the database where to search for your keywords. You can select a field by clicking on the pull down menu next to the search box. Do you want your keyword to show up in the title? Select the title field.

6. Not finding what you need or need more research? Try searching Pubmed or Google Scholar.

Health Source-Nursing/Academic

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes:

  • scholarly journal articles
  • magazine articles
  • trade publication articles

View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search here!

Health Source-Consumer Edition

Health Source - Consumer Edition is an easy-to-read information on many health topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. This resource provides access to:

  • 80 full-text consumer health magazines,
  • current health-related pamphlets
  • health reference books
  • Clinical Reference Systems reports
  • Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary

View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search here!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Unfortunately, you will not have access to all articles that you find through Google Scholar. Those articles that you can access will have the pdf links to the right of the result. Also the advanced search options are limited so be sure to evaluate your articles for the requirements of this project.