Skip to main content

ART 92 - Art History: Journal Articles

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases

Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus.To do so, you will need to select the database and log in with your name and student ID number.

How to Access a Database

To access any of EVC Library's Databases, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Databases link from the left side of the menu. Once selected, you will notice that the databases are organized by subject. Click on the database name that you would like to access from the list. If off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your name and student ID.

Finding articles in a Research Database

Evergreen Valley College Library subscribes to several databases that will help you find articles on topics in art, art history, and design. Try the databases below for access to hundreds of relevant magazine and newspaper articles:

Academic Search Premier   Excellent coverage for topics in art and art history, the huge database is easy to use and spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Biography in Context Provides biographical information on more than thousands of people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Britannica Online A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year, and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors. 

Newspaper Source Plus  Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.