Skip to main content

Chemistry 30B: Journal Articles

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases

Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus.To do so, you will need to select the database and log in with your name and student ID number.

Journals vs Magazines - What's the difference?

For a brief overview of the major characteristics that are used to distinguish these two types of publications, see this online guide from the Chapman University Libraries

For more on the peer-review process, see this page from the Lloyd Sealy Library. 

You can also refer to the EVC Library handout  available at the library reference desk. (Also available as a downloadable PDF.) 

How to Access a Database

To access any of EVC Library's Databases, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Databases link from the left side of the menu. Once selected, you will notice that the databases are organized by subject. Click on the database name that you would like to access from the list. If off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your name and student ID.

Finding articles in a Research Database

Evergreen Valley College Library subscribes to several databases that will help you find articles on topics in anatomy, diseases and conditions. Try the databases below for access to hundreds of relevant journal articles or articles from reference publications:

Science in Context Features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, and science history and biography

Science Online Peer-reviewed general-science journal.

Health Source A collection of consumer health information with access to over 80 full text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 full text health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. 

eBook Collection Online access to full-text book.

Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier contains the full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 magazines, news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.