Skip to main content

English 1B - Literature: Find Articles

Accessing Databases

 Accessing Databases

Library databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. To connect to databases from off campus, enter your NAME followed by your 7-digit STUDENT ID number. 

Click on any of the recommended databases below or to the right to begin your research: 

Biographies

Looking for Biographical Information? Resources below are your best bets: 

Biography in Context

Literature Resource Center

Other Databases

Other Recommended Databases 

LexisNexis Academic  - Database for national and international news sources. 

Explora - Search and find information on frequently researched authors in an easy-to-use format. 

How to Access a Database

To access databases from the library's website:

1. Go to the library homepage at www.evc.edu/library
2. Click on Find Articles & Media on the left 
3. Select the database you wish to search OR 
4. For the Best Bets for this assignment, select the Literature link on the right. 
See more about these databases on the list below... 
 

Recommended: 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Academic Search Complete Database

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database will be helpful for finding information on thousands of topics, including current and controvesial topics. This database includes:

  • Newspaper articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Academic journal articles
  • Images
  • Reports