Background Info - ACCEL - History Paper Research Guide - LibGuides at Evergreen Valley College Library

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are a great way to get started on a research project! These are e-book encyclopedias and can be read online through the computer. Click the title to access the book. If off-campus, you will need to log in with your name and student ID number to read the title.

More information on signing in to the Library catalog and databases are available at the Online Library Support page

JSTOR database

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search journals, primary sources, and books on JSTOR
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.

Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of the New American Nation by Finkelman, Paul
Call Number: E301 .E53 2006
ISBN: 0684313464
Publication Date: 2005-10-21
EVC Reference Library Use Only

eBook

A Companion to American Cultural History by Karen Halttunen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470691090
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
available online

Encyclopedias in the Library

Encyclopedia of American History by Gary B. Nash (Editor)
Call Number: Ref E174.E53 2003
ISBN: 081604371X
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Offering 11 volumes and about 3,500 entries, this comprehensive set follows the congressional-mandated National Standards for United States History -- a project coedited by the editor of this encyclopedia. Each of the first 10 volumes covers a different period in American history with an alphabetical list of entries. A chronology of important events for that period, reprints of important documents, and an index specific to each volume are included. The last volume includes a comprehensive index."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.

Ebook Encyclopedias

The Routledge Companion to the American Civil War Era by Hugh Tulloch
ISBN: 9780203087862
Publication Date: 2006-12-05
available online