LibGuides: Nursing Subject Guide: Library Databases

Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases

Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus.To do so, you will need to select the database and log in with your name and student ID number.

Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin your research:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a health database with a heavy nursing perspective that covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. This database includes peer reviewed primary research articles, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, research instruments records and CEUs.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
SciTech Premium This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles in the sciences from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source provides easy-to-read information on many health topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. This resource provides access to consumer health magazines, current health-related pamphlets, health reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography. This database includes topic overviews, encyclopedia entries, biographies, magazine, newspaper and academic journal articles.
MEDLINE
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, this resource is primarily a citation database with some fulltext scholarly peer-reviewed articles and government reports available.

Accessing Databases

To access databases from the library's website:

1. Go to the library's website

2. Select Find Articles & media from the menu on the left.

3. Select "Nursing and Allied Health" databases

4. Click on the database of your choice

5. If off campus, log in with your first and last name and your student ID number