Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Background Information
Search the following databases to find background information on the topics you are addressing in research project:
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Exprience is an encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, Civil Rights, politics, sports, education, science & technology, etc. In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Find In-depth Articles
Search the following databases to find in depth articles on your topic for the research project:
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.