Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search any of the EVC Library databases from a computer off-campus, you will need to login through Single Sign-On which requires your EVC issued Student Email and Password. See sign-on instructions for details or view video (click on image).
Journals vs Magazines - What's the difference?
For more on the peer-review process, see this page from the Lloyd Sealy Library.
You can also refer to the EVC Library handout available at the library reference desk. (Also available as a downloadable PDF.)
Recommended EVC Databases
African American Experience
The African American Exprience is an encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, Civil Rights, politics, sports, education, science & technology, etc. In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
Biography in Context
Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find biographies, newspaper articles, magazine articles, scholarly journal articles and media.
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
EBSCO ebook Collection
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.
America History and Life
American History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides access to a wide variety to over 40,000 films and documentaries from ABC News, American Experience, TED, BBC Films, Frontline, NOVA, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, The Open University, and California Newsreel, and many more.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
NexisUni is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers published throughout the United States. Use this database to find day-by-day accounts or local/regional perspectives of events that impact society. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 newspaper, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!