Skip to main content

English 1A: Articles

Accessing Databases

 Accessing Databases

Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus.To do so, you will need to select the database and log in with your name and student ID number.

Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin your research: 

CQ Researcher

Lexis Nexis

African American Experience

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Unfortunately, you will not have access to all articles that you find through Google Scholar. Those articles that you can access will have the pdf links to the right of the result. Also the advanced search options are limited so be sure to evaluate your articles for the requirements of this project.

JSTOR

Accessing Databases


To access databases from the library's website:

1. Go to the library's website: http:www.evc.edu/library

2. In the menu on the left, click on Find Articles & Media

3. Select a database from the alphabetical list OR click on a subject in the right menu for a list of recommendations from which to select from.

4. If off campus, log in with your first and last name and student ID number.

Opposing Viewpoints

Issues and Controversies

Latino American Experience