Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus.To do so, you will need to select the database and log in with your name and student ID number.
Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin your research:
America History and Life
American History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
African American Experience
The African American Exprience is an encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, Civil Rights, politics, sports, education, science & technology, etc. In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
Latino American Experience
The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
NexisUni is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers published throughout the United States. Use this database to find day-by-day accounts or local/regional perspectives of events that impact society. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 newspaper, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
To access databases from the library's website:
1. Go to the library's website
2. Select Find Articles from the menu on the left.
3. Click on the database of your choice
4. If off campus, use Single Sign-On to have access to the databases