Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search any of the EVC Library databases from a computer off-campus, you will need to login through Single Sign-On which requires your EVC issued Student Email and Password. See sign-on instructions for details or view video (click on image).
Journals vs Magazines - What's the difference?
For more on the peer-review process, see this page from the Lloyd Sealy Library.
You can also refer to the EVC Library handout available at the library reference desk. (Also available as a downloadable PDF.)
Recommended EVC Databases
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
Issues and Controversies
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
EBSCO ebook Collection
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.
NexisUni is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers published throughout the United States. Use this database to find day-by-day accounts or local/regional perspectives of events that impact society. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 newspaper, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.