Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL-1A Library Guide
EVC Library Website: http://www.evc.edu/library
EVC Library Databases: http://libguides.evc.edu/az.php
Librarian Heather Ott
Accessing Online Sources through the EVC Library
- Go to the library's website
- Select Articles or Books & Media
- For articles, select a database to search and login with your @stu.evc.edu email.
- For books, search by keyword to find sources. If the source is accessible online, select the online access link and login.
Not sure how to login? View our login instructions.
Recommended Reference Databases
For short overview or background articles, search the following reference databases:
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
Recommended Article Databases
For in-depth articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, search the following:
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. In this database you will find, primary research articles, magazine and scholarly peer-review journal articles.
NexisUni is a full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers published throughout the United States. Use this database to find day-by-day accounts or local/regional perspectives of events that impact society. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 newspaper, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Recommend eBook Databases
To find print and ebooks, you can search our library catalog, or you can directly search our ebook databases for books that are accessible online:
EBSCO ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.
Search our library's catalog for print books on your topic.