Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resource Guide: ENGL-1B
Online Article Databases
Search the library's online Article Databases for biographies, essays, and literary critiques on a variety of authors and their works.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers.
Biography in Context
Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find biographies, newspaper articles, magazine articles, scholarly journal articles and media.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
For overview information about the Rodney King Riots, police brutality, racism, poverty, class oppression, etc., the following databases are recommended:
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Use the Google Scholar search engine to find academic and scholarly articles. Not all articles are free... only the articles that have the pdf link on the right will provide you with free access.
Check out these free academic articles found through Google Scholar on Anna Deavere Smith's literary works:
Bernstein, Robin M. "Rodney King, Shifting Modes of Vision, and Anna Deavere Smith's Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992." (2000).
Cho, Nancy. "Beyond Identity Politics: National and Transnational Dialogues in Anna Deavere Smith's Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992 and Chay Yew's A Beautiful Country." Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism 1 (2005): 65-82.
Lyons, Charles R., and James C. Lyons. "Anna Deveare Smith: Perspectives on her Performance within the Context of Critical Theory." Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism 9.1 (1994): 43-66.
Murphet, Julian. “Identity and Difference in Anna Deavere Smith's Performance Art.” Wasafiri 13 (1998): 29–33. Web.
Weatherston, Rosemary. "“The True Words of Real People”: Documenting the Myth of the Real in Anna Deavere Smith’s Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992." ARIEL: A Review of International English Literature 39.1-2 (2008).
Check out these free academic articles found through Google Scholar on Lorna Dee Cervantes' literary works:
The Poetry of Lorna Dee Cervantes. In Frank N. Magill, ed., Masterpieces of Latino Literature. New York: Harper Collins, 1994. pp. 411-413.
Ramazani, Jahan. "Code-Switching, Code-Stitching: A Macaronic Poetics?." Dibur Literary Journal 1 (2015): 29-41.
Literary Reference Books
The following Literary Reference Books include articles on Lorna Dee Cervantes and Anna Deavere Smith. These books can be found in the reference section of the library. Unfortunately, they cannot be checked out but you can make photocopies or take photos of the articles you need.
Literary Critique and Reference Books on Lorna Dee Cervantes:
Literary Critique and Reference Books on Anna Deavere Smith:
Books for checkout
The following books are in our general collection and can be checked out for three weeks. All books are due back at the end of the semester.
Books on reserve about Lorna Dee Cervantes works:
Books on reserve about Anna Deavere Smith: