Article Databases - Biology 071 - Human Anatomy - LibGuides at Evergreen Valley College Library

Accessing Databases

The library provides article databases to students for research. These databases are online collections of published articles from magazines, newspapers and academic journals. Similar to searching the web, you can search the databases for information related to your research topics.

To access databases from the library's website:

Go to the library's website
Under the search box, select Online Articles.
Click on the database of your choice
If off campus, log in with your EVC student email and password.

Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin searching for articles for your research:

These databases—Science Tech Premium and Science in Context—are currently unavailable. Use the Science Reference Center instead.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a health database with a heavy nursing perspective that covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. This database includes peer reviewed primary research articles, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, research instruments records and CEUs.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source provides easy-to-read information on many health topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. This resource provides access to consumer health magazines, current health-related pamphlets, health reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Source is an excellent place to begin your research and provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

Google Scholar

If you are not able to find an article for your Current Topics Project in one of the library's databases, try searching Google Scholar. Google Scholar is a free search engine that can link you to free academic journal articles in a variety of fields, including human anatomy. Not all articles are freely accessible, but those that are will provide the full text link to the right of the title. Watch the following 3 minute video for more details:

Biology 071 - Human Anatomy: Article Databases

Accessing Databases

Google Scholar