Explore Topics - Biology 061 - Human Heredity - LibGuides at Evergreen Valley College Library

Accessing Databases

Searching Databases

Find these sources and more from the library's Online Articles page. When off-campus, you will need to enter your Single Sign On information.

Databases listed below help you to locate articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as from reference encyclopedias

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a health database with a heavy nursing perspective that covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. This database includes peer reviewed primary research articles, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, research instruments records and CEUs.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

EBook Central - Proquest
This database contains ebooks from a variety of subject areas. The majority of ebooks in this collection are from Proquest's College Complete collection.