Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus. To do so, you will need to select the database and use Single Sign-On.
Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin your research:
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
To access databases from the library's website:
1. Go to the library's website
2. Select Find Articles from the menu on the left.
3. Click on the database of your choice
4. If off campus, use Single Sign-On to have access to the databases