Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search any of the EVC Library databases from a computer off-campus, you will need to login through Single Sign-On which requires your EVC issued Student Email and Password. See sign-on instructions for details or view video (click on image).
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information that is made searchable. The EVC Library Databases include content from reference sources (such as encyclopedias) as well as articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
If you'd like more information on how magazines and journals differ, please refer to the EVC Library handout available at the library reference desk. (Also available as a downloadable PDF.)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. In this database you will find, primary research articles, magazine and scholarly peer-review journal articles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
EBSCO ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.