Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS DATABASE
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints is a great place to get started with your research. This database has background information on controversial issues. Use the Background and Viewpoint articles to help narrow down your topics and formulate your research questions.
Other suggested reference databases to provide you with background research:
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues and Controversies
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Please complete the following activity:
1. Go to the database: Opposing Viewpoints.
2. Search for your topic.
3. Look through the Reference and Viewpoint articles
4. Email relevant articles to yourself.