3. Resources - English 1A - Hahn - LibGuides at Evergreen Valley College Library

Finding Credible Articles

Search the Library's databases to find articles to support your papers. A list of our databases can be found here.

Scholarly Academic Journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The Academic Search Complete database has thousands of articles in many different subject areas. This database has a large collection of academic journals. Academic journal articles are written by scholars/professors/researchers for the academic community, and often written with the purpose of sharing outcomes of research studies.

Statistical Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
The Statista database is a statistical database that offers data from business and government organizations. Be careful! Opinion research is included in this database and would not be considered concrete data because opinion research is generally information about society's perception of a issue.

Legislation

Search for State and Federal Supreme Court Decisions here:

Search for Supreme Court Case Transcripts here:

Federal Supreme Court Case Argument Transcripts
Transcripts are only available for the cases argued during the October Term 2000 and subsequent Court Terms.

Government Documents

A good place to find state and federal documents is online through government websites. Use "site:.gov" to narrow your results in Google to .gov websites.

Newspapers

For local topics, use local newspapers. Researching Homelessness in San Jose? Search the San Jose Mercury News website.

Also check out our Newspaper databases:

Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.

Topics and Keywords

When searching library databases, only type in keywords that are relevant to your focused research question:

Do abstinence-only programs reduce teen pregnancy?

Keywords for this topic include: abstinence-only and teen pregnancy.
What other related concepts or synonyms could you search for to find additional results? Topics like, sex education, are also related and could be searched for to receive a different selection of results.

English 1A - Hahn: 3. Resources