Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the LIBRARY!
Library Orientation Objectives:
- Define a reliable source
- Find reliable articles on a variety of literature topics using library databases
- Review MLA8
Below are a list of Recommended Databases to search for and find relevant biographies, work overviews and literature criticisms for your research paper:
Biography in Context
Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find biographies, newspaper articles, magazine articles, scholarly journal articles and media.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.