LibGuides: Engl-1B: Finding Articles & Books

Accessing Online Sources through the EVC Library

Library Research for Engl-1B

Accessing Online Sources through the EVC Library

Finding Books on Our Website: The Library Catalog

Finding Article: The Databases

Go to the library's website
Select Articles or Books & Media
For articles, select a database to search and login with your @stu.evc.edu email.
For books, search by keyword to find sources. If the source is accessible online, select the online access link and login.

Not sure how to login?

For short overview or background articles, search the following reference databases:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
Funk& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. The database contains images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

To find print and ebooks, you can search our library catalog, or you can directly search our ebook databases for books that are accessible online:

EBSCO ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.