LibGuides: ENGL1aWilson: Home

Home

Resource Guide for English-1a

Instructor: Scott Wilson
Instructing Librarian: Heather Ott
Updated: Spring 2024

LIBRARY DATABASES -- Finding college appropriate resources for your research papers

Access the library's databases to find credible and college level appropriate articles, books, videos, government reports, and more! If you are off campus, login with your mywebID@stu.evc.edu email and password.

Get started with the following databases:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!

Use the following databases for scholarly/academic research articles:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.

Access ebooks here:

EBook Central - Proquest
This database contains ebooks from a variety of subject areas. The majority of ebooks in this collection are from Proquest's College Complete collection.
EBSCO ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.

CITATION -- Giving credit to your resources

Recommended Citation Resources: