Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome Anth63 Students to EVC Library!
EVC Library website: www.evc.edu/library EVC Library databases: http://libguides.evc.edu/az.php
Monday – Thursday 8 AM – 8 PM
Friday 9 AM – 3 PM
Saturday 10 AM – 2 PM
Phone 408-274-7900 x6661
Chat with a librarian when one is available online
Search for your topics in these databases to find articles and other informational sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
American History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Primary sources are works created by people who experienced or observed an event. For historical and anthropological sources, look for resources written by people who lived during the specific time period.
Below are resources that can be used to find primary sources:
Latino American Experience
The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present
Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 875,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.
this catalog can be searched by author, title, subject and keyword