LibGuides: Black Lives Matter: Articles

Databases and articles

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer reviewed) journal articles.
more...less...
Start your research here. It is the largest database in the list.
Black Lives Matter and Bridge Building
Larson, Eric D. “Black Lives Matter and Bridge Building: Labor Education for a ‘New Jim Crow’ Era.” Labor Studies Journal, vol. 41, no. 1, Mar. 2016, pp. 36–66. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1177/0160449X16638800.
America: History and Life
American History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.

Coates, Ta-Nehisi (June 2014). "The Case for Reparations". The Atlantic.

Cobb, Jelani (March 14, 2016). "The Matter of Black Lives". The New Yorker.

Hannah-Jones, Nikole (June 30, 2020). "What is Owed." New York Times.

Hayward, Clarissa Rile. (January 31, 2020). "Disruption: What Is It Good For?" The Journal of Politics.82(2), 448–459.

Lebron, Christopher J. (June 2018). "The Making of Black Lives Matter: A Response". Ethnic and Racial Studies, 41(8), 1447–1452.

Miller, Lisa L. (August 5, 2016). "Black Activists Don't Ignore Crime". The New York Times.

Towler, C., Crawford, N., & Bennett, R. (2020). "Shut Up and Play: Black Athletes, Protest Politics, and Black Political Action." Perspectives on Politics, 18(1), 111–127.

Key events in the History of Police brutality
"Key Events in the History of Police Brutality." Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 24 Sept. 2020, icof.infobaselearning.com/
recordurl.aspx?ID=15959. Accessed 29 Oct. 2020.
Issues & Controversies
This database provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
The African American Experience
This database is an encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, Civil Rights, politics, sports, education, science & technology, etc. In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.