LibGuides: Women's Studies (WOMS10): Articles

Database Access

To access the library databases:

1. Go to the library's website: www.evc.edu/library

2. Click Online Articles

3. Select a database from the alphabetical list OR click on a subject in the right menu for a list of recommendations from which to select from.

4. If off campus, login through Single Sign-On. See sign-on instructions for details.

How to search in Academic Search Complete database

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.

Also search Google Scholar

When searching Google Scholar, look for Full Text only.

Recommended EVC Databases

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Exprience is an encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, Civil Rights, politics, sports, education, science & technology, etc. In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
Latino American Experience
The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.In this database you will find reference articles and primary sources such as manuscripts, speeches, interviews.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
EBSCO ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.
Proquest eBook Central
This database contains ebooks from a variety of subject areas. The majority of ebooks in this collection are from Proquest's College Complete collection.
Gale Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Platform for browsing and searching all Gale research content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
American History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
New York Times Online (NYTimes.com)
NYTimes.com provides current and archived New York Times content including award-winning articles, short documentaries, editorials, and more. To access, you will need to create an NYTimes.com account, by clicking the link above, signing in with your EVC email and selecting "create an account". Follow the instructions.
For more details, follow the steps in our FAQ: https://evc.libanswers.com/faq/375105.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.

EVC Library also has Film Documentaries

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This database has over 80,000 educational videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, feature films, and newsreels that covers a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, gender & sexuality, health, history, music, science, social sciences, and more. For more information, visit the ProQuest Academic Video Online LibGuide.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides access to a wide variety to over 40,000 films and documentaries from ABC News, American Experience, TED, BBC Films, Frontline, NOVA, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, The Open University, and California Newsreel, and many more.