Library Research for Engl-1B
Search the library's online Article Databases
for biographies, essays, and literary critiques on a variety of authors and their works.
Accessing Online Sources through the EVC Library
To find Books and articles use the catalog search on Our Website: The Library Catalog
It is better to go directly to the Library's databases to find articles. The Databases
To access databases from the library's website:
1. Go to the library homepage at www.evc.edu/library
2. Click on Find Articles & Media below
3. Select the database you wish to search OR
4. select the Literature link on the right for the best Bets for this assignment.
For articles, select a database to search and log in with your @stu.evc.edu email.
Accessing Databases
Library databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. To connect to databases from off campus, enter your NAME followed by your 7-digit STUDENT ID number.
Click on any of the recommended databases below or to the right to begin your research:
Gale Academic OneFile Alternate Name(s): Academic OneFile
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Some databases have changed this semester, and some have changed their names.
The Library has purchased many new Gale literature titles
Go to the Library A-Z database list for all the databases
Bloom's Literary Reference Collection (Infobase eBooks)
Literary critiques and analysis of the world's most prominent literary masterpieces.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides overviews and critical discussions of authors and their work. This is a great database for finding in-depth information on authors, poems, short stories, novels, dramas, and more. In this database, you will find literary criticisms, author biographies, work overviews, critical essays, and author interviews.
For in-depth articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, search the following:
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database will be helpful for finding information on thousands of topics, including current and controvesial topics. This database includes:
To find print and ebooks, you can search our library catalog, or you can directly search our ebook databases for books that are accessible online:
For short overview or background articles, search the following reference databases:
