Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search any of the EVC Library databases from a computer off-campus, you will need to login through Single Sign-On which requires your EVC issued Student Email and Password. See sign-on instructions for details or view video (click on image).
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information that is made searchable. The EVC Library Databases include content from reference sources (such as encyclopedias) as well as articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
If you'd like more information on how magazines and journals differ, please refer to the EVC Library handout available at the library reference desk. (Also available as a downloadable PDF.)
Recommended databases for your research topic.
Latino American Experience
The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
GVRL contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic.
Biography in Context
Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.
A great source for newspaper articles.