Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search any of the EVC Library databases from a computer off-campus, all you need to do is enter your NAME followed by your 7-digit STUDENT ID at the authentication screen. You can find your student ID on your ID card, using MyWeb, or on your school transcript.
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of information that is made searchable. The EVC Library Databases include content from reference sources (such as encyclopedias) as well as articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
If you'd like more information on how magazines and journals differ, please refer to the EVC Library handout available at the library reference desk. (Also available as a downloadable PDF.)
EBSCO ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks provides full text access to academic eBooks.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
American History and Life is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
Funk& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. The database contains images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.