Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
Scholarly vs Popular
Don't know the difference between scholarly and popular articles? We have created a helpful guide to show you how!
Be sure to check out the other guides available for every step of the research process.
This database has over 80,000 educational videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, feature films, and newsreels that covers a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, gender & sexuality, health, history, music, science, social sciences, and more. For more information, visit the ProQuest Academic Video Online LibGuide.
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
Films on Demand provides access to a wide variety to over 40,000 films and documentaries from ABC News, American Experience, TED, BBC Films, Frontline, NOVA, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, The Open University, and California Newsreel, and many more.
Swank provides digital access to course-related feature-length films, including documentaries, dramas, comedies, thrillers, mysteries, and more. The films are selected by instructors and are required assignments for coursework at EVC. Swank is available for streaming to EVC students, faculty, and staff from on- or off-campus.
