To search any of the EVC Library databases from a computer off-campus, you will need to login through Single Sign-On which requires your EVC issued Student Email and Password. See sign-on instructions for details.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context provides information on controversial issues in society. In this database you will find viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, biographies, primary documents, academic journal articles newspaper and magazine articles. Use the viewpoint articles to help you form an argument for your controversial issue paper!
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues & Controversies provides reports that explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. This is a great database for the beginning of the research process since it provides foundational overviews for nearly 800 current topics that profoundly impact society.
Gale eBooks contains keyword searchable reference sources. This is a good starting point for your research project. Use this database to get an overview of a topic and identify keywords and topics to identify further research.
Academic Search Complete is a robust multidisciplinary database that can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at EVC. This database includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly (peer review) journal articles.
NYTimes.com provides current and archived New York Times content including award-winning articles, short documentaries, editorials, and more. To access, you will need to create an NYTimes.com account, by clicking the link above, signing in with your EVC email and selecting "create an account". Follow the instructions.
For more details, follow the steps in our FAQ: https://evc.libanswers.com/faq/375105.
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.