EVC Library: About Us & Services: Building

Library Facility Mission Statement

The 21st century EVC Library must be an integrated facility capable of and responsible for acquiring, preserving, identifying, and giving access to recorded knowledge, information, and data in all formats and for providing training and assistance in the use of recorded knowledge and information. Its central role in the education process will be to enable each student to assimilate, select, classify, and think critically about the information and data to which the Library provides access.

To carry out this role effectively in the future, the Library will require an infrastructure consisting of facilities, equipment, and networking capability that enhances and maintains the Library role as an important intellectual center of the campus for students, faculty, and staff. The facilities infrastructure will have the following principal characteristics:

• • Functional space for librarians and staff to train and assist students and faculty in their use of recorded knowledge, information, and data.
  • Computer workstations for students using Library resources and space for providing appropriate levels of assistance and guidance.
  • Space for librarians to instruct entire classes in the use of Library resources.
  • Space to house the Library's locally held collections (e.g., books, videos, compact discs, etc.) and the computers and other hardware needed for access to electronic recorded knowledge, information, and data.
  • Diverse learning styles and needs must be accommodated through collections in all formats.
  • The infrastructure should be hospitable to each of these formats and should support full exploitation of print, graphic, audio, video, and other electronic resources.
  • Networking infrastructure that allows maximum flexibility, including network connections in all work areas and study spaces (not only in areas designated as "labs").
  • Space for individual and group study areas to facilitate collaborative interaction between students, faculty, and staff
  • Remote access to all Library resources and services for both on-campus students and distance learners.

(adapted from A Strategic Plan of the CSU Council of Library Directors).

Project Goals endorsed by the Library/ETC/Audio-Visual and Design Team Planning Committee

 Campus Goals

Will make a statement as the "gateway" seen from the road
Will provide a welcoming environment
Will take advantage of the landscape and exterior views
Will improve the outdoor areas by creating outdoor spaces
Will be linked to the campus master plan
Will provide a safe environment for students, faculty, and staff

Building Goals

Image—express knowledge and learning
Design to be compatible with campus architecture
Marker—view element
Unique building
No back—visible from all sides

Program Goals

Primary goal will be customer service—service to students
Make technology accessible
"Community lobby" –reach out to community
Building spaces should be a pleasant experience—indoor/outdoor feel
Design will foster faculty, staff, library and technology center collaboration
Design will be open and flexible
Library specific services will be on a single level
Design will foster good circulation and traffic movement (flow) through the building and good way finding
Design will allow different elements to maintain different hours of service without forcing the entire facility to be open

Guiding Principles

The facility will support the curriculum and alternative learning styles
The facility will provide functional and flexible space
The facility will be well organized with good way finding
The facility will support staff functionality, teamwork, sharing and backup
The facility will be dynamic, energetic, and a visual gateway to the campus and to learning
The facility will be customer oriented with a strong service focus
The facility, as part of a community college, will serve the community
 

Library Building Statement

The new Library provides comfortable seating and study space under the branches of an elevated ceiling in the reading room. Windows in the room let in natural light through the branches and a large window at the end of the reading room provides a focal point to celebrate the beauty surrounding the EVC campus.
A combination of study spaces enhances a variety of learning styles: individual quiet study tables, lounge chairs, open tables and study rooms for collaboration, computer classroom for information competency instruction across the curriculum, an outside deck, computer workstations in open reading room area, wired carrels and laptops. Staff assistance is welcoming and easily accessible.

Display space throughout the Library offers opportunity for art work and cultural displays to enrich the campus community. A separate Heritage Room provides space for storage of local history collections, research and small group discussions. The room includes the broad multicultural emphasis of the community served by EVC through collaboration with community and campus groups.

Technological support throughout the Library provides convenient access for students, faculty, staff and community to information in many formats. Information competency for all is at the heart of the Library program and the new facility.