Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biography in Context
Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find:
- Encyclopedia (reference) entries
- Newspaper Articles
- Magazine Articles
- Academic Journal Articles
- Recommended Websites
View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search here.
Britannica Online is a searchable online encyclopedia. This database is a great starting point for your research; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
Recommended Print Encyclopedias
Novels for Students by
Call Number: REF PN 3385 .N68
Publication Date: 2004-11-12
Contains discussions of the literary and historical background of 12 to 15 works from various cultures and time periods
What Do I Read Next? Multicultural Literature
Call Number: PS153.M56 W54 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Divided into sections covering African American, Asian American, Latino, and Native American authors, the book highlights titles published mainly between the late 1980s and 1996.
Asian American Literature by
Call Number: REF PS 153.A84 A82 1999
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
Lists 45 American writers of Asian descent, giving a photo, a short biography, a list of major works, criticism and reviews, and further resource materials. T