Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rooftops of Tehran Research Guide: Find Articles

Prepared for English 1A - Roohi Vora

Accessing Databases

 Accessing Databases

Many of the Library's databases contain electronic copies of articles from newspapers, magazine and journals. You may access and conduct research in these databases from off campus.To do so, you will need to select the database and log in with your name and student ID number.

Click on any of the recommended databases below to begin your research: 

Biography in Context

Biography in Context banner

Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find:

  • Encyclopedia (reference) entries
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Magazine Articles
  • Academic Journal Articles
  • Images
  • Media
  • Recommended Websites

View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search here.

CQ Researcher Database

CQ Researcher banner

CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Reports include:

  • Introduction
  • Overview
  • Background
  • Current Situation
  • Outlook
  • Pro/Con
  • Chronology
  • Short Features
  • Maps/Graphs
  • Bibliography

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

List of databases

The library has many more databases than listed on this page. Depending on the focus of your research topic, you might find more informational sources in our other databases. Click here for a list of our databases.

Accessing Databases

To access databases from the library's website:

1. Go to the library's website

2. Select Find Articles from the menu on the left.

3. Click on the database of your choice

4. If off campus, use Single Sign-On

Literature Reference Center

Literary Reference Center banner

Literature Reference Center provides overviews and critical discussions of authors and their work. This is a great database for finding in depth information on authors, poems, short stories, novels, dramas and more. In this database you will find:

  • Literary Criticisms
  • Author Biographies
  • Work Overviews
  • Critical Essays
  • Book Reviews
  • Plot Summaries
  • Classic and Contempororary Poems
  • Recommended Websites
  • Author Interviews
     

Academic Search Complete Database